Ludmilla Ulitskaya is a Guest of Honour of the 16th Budapest Book Festival and a laureate of the Budapest Grand Prize

During the ceremony of opening of the International Book Festival Budapest-2009 Ludmila Ulitskaya, Festival's Guest Of Honor this Year, will be presented with the Budapest Grand Prize by the Lord Mayor of Budapest, Dr Gábor Demszky.
The list of previous-years winners of this prestigious award include:
Ernst Jandl, Austrian poet (1995)
Ephraim Kishon (Kishont Ferenc), Israeli writer of Hungarian origin (1996)
Kertész Imre, Nobel-Prize winner, Hungarian writer (1997)
Salman Rushdie, Indian-English writer (1998)
Viktor Jerofejev, Russian author (1999)
Slawomir Mrozek, Polish witer (2000)
Robert Merle, French writer (2001)
Lawrence Norfolk, English writer (2002)
Mario Vargas Llosa, Perui writer (2003)
Günter Grass, Nobel-Prize winner German writer (2004)
Paulo Coelho, Brazilian writer (2005)
Jorge Semprún, Spanish writer (2006)
Umberto Eco, Italian writer (2007)
Bret Easton Ellis, American writer (2008)

Detailed program of the festival please see on its webpage:

Share this: